King Gizzard And The Lizard Wizard Board ‘Flight b741’

Cerebral Asteroids: King Gizzard And The Lizard Wizard Trades Guitars For Synths On 25th Album
Cerebral Asteroids: King Gizzard And The Lizard Wizard Trades Guitars For Synths On 25th Album

As expected, King Gizzard and the Lizard Wizard will release their 26th studio album, Flight b741, Aug. 9 through their own p(doom) records imprint. A first single and video will be unveiled July 9, according to a social media post from the Australian sextet. “Been working real hard on this one,” group member Stu Mackenzie wrote. “So excited for you all to hear it! Thanks for flying.”

Flight b741 sports 10 new tracks, five of which were debuted during Gizzard’s recent European tour. “Sad Pilot” chronicles a drunken airline employee who mulls leaving his “problems at the jet bridge,” while “Daily Blues” is a multi-faceted epic with nods to the Doors and the Grateful Dead. “Le Risque” is a deliciously naughty helping of four-to-the-floor disco rock with ELO swagger and a bridge nicked from Queen’s “Crazy Little Thing Called Love,” while the stomping “Raw Feel” has one of the most gleeful, singalong choruses in the Gizzard canon.

More from Spin:

Group member Ambrose Kenny-Smith previously described the new album to SPIN as “pretty rock / blues-rock — sort of like a classic ‘70s-sounding album. Lots of energy. Lots of big vibes going on.”

King Gizzard will return to North America on Aug. 15 in Washington, D.C., for visits to the largest venues they’ve played in the country to date, including Los Angeles’ 18,000-capacity Kia Forum and the 21,600-capacity Gorge Amphitheatre in Washington state. Beforehand, Kenny-Smith and Tame Impala/Pond principal Jay Watson will release their first collaboration, Ill Times, on July 19 through (p)doom records.

Here is the track list for Flight b741:

1. Mirage City
2. Antarctica
3. Raw Feel
4. Field of Vision
5. Hog Calling Contest 
6. Le Risque
7. Flight b741
8. Sad Pilot
9. Rats tn the Sky
10. Daily Blues

To see our running list of the top 100 greatest rock stars of all time, click here.